Syd Godfrey Spirit of Cricket Award

The Spirit of Cricket Award is named after Syd Godfrey, who during every season was down the club every training session and game day. He would get on with training and just keep going without any complaining, he showed true dedication to everyone’s improvement bowling and doing fielding drills long after training and into the dark if people needed it. Syd played for the Tigers for 16 years from 1992/93 to 2009/10 playing 229 games. He was an allrounder, with the bat he amassed 2200 runs at an average of 10.19 making 1 fifty (52) vs Riverton in 1994/95 with the ball Syd took 146 wickets at an average of 29.22 with a best of 5/18 vs Leeming in 1999, he took 2 five fors. Syd continued to work for the Tigers well after his retirement.Syd Godfrey

To win this award you have to train till the end without giving up and help without getting asked.

List of winners of the Syd Godfrey Spirit of Cricket Award

2020/21 - Wynand Gouws
2019/20 - Salman Farsi
2018/19 - Ritesh Kumar
2017/18 - Matthew Pedulla & Gregor Gear
2016/17 - Coen Walmsley
2015/16 - Will Kwaramba
2014/15 - Will Kwaramba
2013/14 - Marcello Campo
2012/13 - 
2011/12 - Vijay Kumar
2010/11 - Josh Taylor
2009/10 - 
2008/09 - Rob Mullane & Will Kwaramba
2007/08 - Syd Godfrey